Apply to Battle Born Youth ChalleNGe Academy

Applying to the Youth ChalleNGe Academy is the first step towards making positive changes.

How to Start

Contact your admissions specialist (listed near the bottom of this page) for more information and to schedule a program presentation. Due to statewide delays caused by COVID-19, if you are considering applying to the Academy, and you do not have a valid state id, social security card, or birth certificate available, we suggest you go ahead and apply for those now.

Battle Born Youth ChalleNGe Academy offers two semesters per year: one that begins in January, and the next in July.

It's never too early to submit your application. In order to be considered for acceptance, the applicant must be:

  • 16–18 years of age on the first day of the class;
  • free from any felony charges or adjudications;
  • drug-free or willing to become drug-free;
  • a U.S. citizen and resident of Nevada;
  • at risk of not completing high school with their peer group;
  • eligible to enroll in high school courses (must have completed 8th grade); and
  • voluntarily applying for admission to BBYCA.

        Application Process

        The application process is rather lengthy. As such, we suggest starting the process as early as possible by following these steps.

        Step One
        Step Two
        Step Three
        Step Four

        Admissions and Regions

        Battle Born Youth ChalleNGe Academy
        PO Box 700
        Carlin, NV 89822

        Lead Admissions Specialist - Rural
        Karl Klein, (775) 431-7108 
        Rural Nevada includes: Churchill, Humboldt, Mineral, Esmeralda, Lander, Northern Nye, Elko, Eureka, White Pine, Pershing, and Lincoln counties

        Admissions Specialist - Southern Nevada
        R.Todd Jordan, (775) 315-1243
        Southern Nevada includes: Southern Nye County and Clark county

        Admissions Specialist - Western Nevada
        Melissa Jacobo, (775) 431-7113 
        Western Nevada includes: Carson City and Washoe, Storey, Douglas, and Lyon counties